Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

cpu stuck at 0.77-0.79 GHz (Resolved).

- - - - -

Best Answer realistpnoy , 30 September 2016 - 11:11 PM

Its been three weeks and still running fine now after unchecking the "Turn on fast startup" on System Settings. I will check back if it happens again. Thank you. Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#1
realistpnoy

realistpnoy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

My laptop has been really slow lately and just found out that it is stuck at this speed. Thanks.

 

EDIT: I just restarted it and the speed is back to normal.


Edited by realistpnoy, 23 August 2016 - 02:25 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,206 posts

Hello realistpnoy,

 

Glad to hear that things are back to as they should be and thank you for letting us know  :thumbsup:

 

Any further problems with the same issue returning come back to this thread and we will take a look for you.


  • 0

#3
realistpnoy

realistpnoy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

Unfortunately it happened again and restarting fixed it...


  • 0

#4
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,206 posts

Check to see if anything was being updated at the time, your AV or depending when you last used the computer Windows etc.


  • 0

#5
realistpnoy

realistpnoy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

I just turned on the laptop and its at 0.77-0.79 Ghz again. Its not updating or anything right now.


  • 0

#6
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,206 posts

Download Process Explorer which you can obtain from here

Save it to your desktop then run it (Vista or Win7 - right click and Run as Administrator).  

View, Select Column, check Verified Signer, OK

Options, Verify Image Signatures

 

Click twice on the CPU column header to arrange things by CPU usage, this will put the services with the highest CPU usage at the top of the log. 

 

Wait a minimum of a minute then grab a screenshot and attach it to your next reply for us

 

To capture and post a screenshot;

 

Click on the ALT key + PRT SCR key..its on the top row..right hand side..now click on start...all programs...accessories...paint....left click in the white area ...press CTRL + V...click on file...click on save...save it to your desktop...name it something related to the screen your capturing... BE SURE TO SAVE IT AS A .JPG ...otherwise it may be to big to upload... Click on the More Reply Options tab then after typing in any response you have... click on Choose File...desktop...find the screenshot..select it and click on Attach This File...on the lower left...after it says upload successful...click on add reply like you normally would.

 

Screenshot instructions are provided to assist those that may read this topic but are not yet aware of the “how to”.


  • 0

#7
realistpnoy

realistpnoy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

Ok. I've attached the file.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.png

Edited by realistpnoy, 05 September 2016 - 12:30 PM.

  • 0

#8
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,206 posts

Nothing hogging the CPU resources so it looks like a bad setting or power issue.

 

Can you tell us the brand and model name or number of the notebook and whether or not you are using the correct brand of charger and main battery for the notebook.


  • 0

#9
realistpnoy

realistpnoy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

Toshiba Satellite P75‑A7200. Charger is Toshiba PA-5035U-1ACA.  Battery is Toshiba PA5121U-1BRS.


Edited by realistpnoy, 09 September 2016 - 01:36 PM.

  • 0

#10
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,206 posts

What about the main battery.

 

Have you tried removing the main battery and running off the AC adaptor to see if that makes a difference.

 

Download and run the Intel CPU diagnostic tool


  • 0

#11
realistpnoy

realistpnoy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
✓  Best Answer

Its been three weeks and still running fine now after unchecking the "Turn on fast startup" on System Settings. I will check back if it happens again. Thank you.


  • 0

#12
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,206 posts

Thanks for the update and for including the solution realistpnoy  :thumbsup:


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP