Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC totally crashed after interupted update (Resolved).

- - - - -

Best Answer thawkins53 , 31 October 2016 - 06:44 AM

Hello. Sorry for the delay. Just wanted to thank you for all your help and suggestions. We ordered a pre-loaded bios chip from the states. This has been fitted and the PC booted immediately. I dont... Go to the full post »

• Please log in to reply

thawkins53

thawkins53

• PipPip
  • 10 posts

This is my first time here and hope someone can help. I have a HP pavilion tower which had been running with no problems. I recently updated to windows 10 and part way through the installation we had a power cut. when power was restored the PC would not boot regardless of what I tried.

My young IT guy at work has looked for me and found that if we remove the cmos battery for a day and remove the graphics card we can get the machine to boot up, once the cmos battery only is refitted. It will then continue to boot as long as we use the restart function. If we power the unit down and start it again it will not boot up. Remove the cmos battery for a day and again it will boot up.

We believe the graphics card may have a problem so we are running on the on-board graphics only. We cannot understand why it wont boot from cold. I am open to any suggestions.

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,749 posts

:welcome:    thawkins53,