Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Infectected with adware in search engines

• Please log in to reply

noluiz

noluiz

• Pip
  • 8 posts

My search engine Microsoft edge is often very slow so installed google chrome on windows 10, which is better and was a pain to say the least to install this.

I keep getting popups when I use my search engines usually adware or saying I'm infected by other internet security and I need to update eg .NET Framework 3.5 (includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0) etc.

I'm not very technical but always unsure what I do need to update or what is a Trojan so I always reject them.

I'm currently using Bitdefender 2016 but my computer was infected before I installed this and the issue still remains I was thinking about installing Norton instead but I'm not sure if this would rectify this.

Please can anyone help ?

I have attached the results from the Farbar recovery scan tool.

Attached Files

Advertisements

RKinner

RKinner

Malware Expert

• Expert
  • 24,598 posts
  • MVP

Uninstall:

McAfee Security Scan Plus (HKLM\...\McAfee Security Scan) (Version: 3.11.376.2 - McAfee, Inc.)

The Desktop Weather 2.0.1.11332 (HKLM\...\WeatherTool) (Version: 2.0.1.11332 - ShenZhen Enode Techology co,.Ltd) <==== ATTENTION

Download : ADWCleaner to your desktop.  Make sure you get the correct Download button.  Sometimes the ads on BleepingComputer will mimic the real Download button which should say: Download Now @BleepingComputer