Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building my first ever performance rig

• Please log in to reply

Rx7HKS

Rx7HKS

• PipPip
  • 28 posts

Hello,

As my topic states, I'm looking to build my first ever computer from the ground up. I've had a few gaming/performance computers before, but they've all been pre-built. I don't want to limit my budget too much on this as I'm looking to splurge a little to get something that will last me and be 'future-proof', so to speak. However, I am new to this and want to make sure that the list i've compiled is compatible with eachother as I've been buying the parts little by little as I see them go on sale(Also expecting big things on Cyber Monday next month).

Anyway, here's my list:

One thing I've heard people mention in reviews is that the GPU can't really handle anything past 1080P otherwise it starts to bottleneck. So 1440P or 4K is not good for that specific graphics card, which is what I'm trying to go for with the monitor I'm trying to get.  The CPU was between the the 6800k and the 5820k, I still haven't bought this one yet, looking to see if anything might go down in price, but I hear that there isn't much of a difference to either other than price?