Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Speeding Up Windows 10 (HP Laptop)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply

#16
TammyGarza

TammyGarza

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

open task manager by right clicking on the taskbar then click on > File option > Run New Task > type CMD > Make sure you check > Create this task with administrative privileges. > hit enter

now command prompt window will appear with administrator rights

type > sfc /scannow

> hit enter

wait till it finishes

once its 100%

restart your system

(this steps will fix system errors if you have it because of any virus)

and download the cleaner software run the cleaner once

and also try disk fragmentation

and use task manager to see, what makes your PC slower, if its hard drive, try switching to SSD if you're still using a standard SATA hard drive)

and if you are heavy multi-tasker then having more ram is very crucial


  • 0

Advertisements


#17
mlansky

mlansky

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

Crossed wires i`m afraid, as FreeBooter had answered your question me posting the same would have served no purpose, but yes to both of your questions.

 

Hi philpower2,

 

I ran the Crucial System Scanner Tool on my laptop. Is it ok if I post the results here?

 

Thanks again,

 

mlansky


  • 0

#18
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

As per my reply #10, provide screenshots of both for us if you will;

 

Download Process Explorer which you can obtain from here

Save it to your desktop then run it (Vista or Win7 - right click and Run as Administrator).  

View, Select Column, check Verified Signer, OK

Options, Verify Image Signatures

 

Click twice on the CPU column header to arrange things by CPU usage, this will put the services with the highest CPU usage at the top of the log. 

 

 

 

Use the Crucial system scanner tool here to find the best recommended RAM for your system, no need to purchase from there, write down the details, let us know what is suggested and we can take a look for you. 

 

 

Screenshot instructions should you need them;

 

To capture and post a screenshot;

 

Click on the ALT key + PRT SCR key..its on the top row..right hand side..now click on start...all programs...accessories...paint....left click in the white area ...press CTRL + V...click on file...click on save...save it to your desktop...name it something related to the screen your capturing... BE SURE TO SAVE IT AS A .JPG ...otherwise it may be to big to upload... Click on the More Reply Options tab then after typing in any response you have... click on Choose File...desktop...find the screenshot..select it and click on Attach This File...on the lower left...after it says upload successful...click on add reply like you normally would.

 

Screenshot instructions are provided to assist those that may read this topic but are not yet aware of the “how to”.


  • 0

#19
mlansky

mlansky

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

As per my reply #10, provide screenshots of both for us if you will;

 

Download Process Explorer which you can obtain from here

Save it to your desktop then run it (Vista or Win7 - right click and Run as Administrator).  

View, Select Column, check Verified Signer, OK

Options, Verify Image Signatures

 

Click twice on the CPU column header to arrange things by CPU usage, this will put the services with the highest CPU usage at the top of the log. 

 

 

 

Use the Crucial system scanner tool here to find the best recommended RAM for your system, no need to purchase from there, write down the details, let us know what is suggested and we can take a look for you. 

 

 

Screenshot instructions should you need them;

 

To capture and post a screenshot;

 

Click on the ALT key + PRT SCR key..its on the top row..right hand side..now click on start...all programs...accessories...paint....left click in the white area ...press CTRL + V...click on file...click on save...save it to your desktop...name it something related to the screen your capturing... BE SURE TO SAVE IT AS A .JPG ...otherwise it may be to big to upload... Click on the More Reply Options tab then after typing in any response you have... click on Choose File...desktop...find the screenshot..select it and click on Attach This File...on the lower left...after it says upload successful...click on add reply like you normally would.

 

Screenshot instructions are provided to assist those that may read this topic but are not yet aware of the “how to”.

 

Hi phillpower2,

 

Thank you once again for your reply. Here is the screenshot of the results from the "Crucial System Scanner Tool' along with a screenshot of my 'Process Explorer'.

 

Thanks again for all your patience & help. It is much appreciated.

 

mlansky

Attached Thumbnails

  • Crucial System Scanner (Screenshot #1)(Mon. Nov. 14, 2016).jpg
  • Crucial System Scanner (Screenshot #2)(Mon. Nov. 14, 2016).jpg
  • Process Explorer (Mon. Nov. 14, 2016).jpg

  • 0

#20
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

You need to click on the View more compatible memory upgrades tab, when you do it should list 4GB DDR3L as an option, two of these is what you need but before purchasing please confirm that you are running Windows 10 64-bit, you should be as the computer shipped with Windows 7 64-bit and if you upgraded for free you should have Windows 10 64-bit.

 

Process Explorer shows that nothing is hogging the CPU resources which is good news.


  • 0

#21
mlansky

mlansky

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

You need to click on the View more compatible memory upgrades tab, when you do it should list 4GB DDR3L as an option, two of these is what you need but before purchasing please confirm that you are running Windows 10 64-bit, you should be as the computer shipped with Windows 7 64-bit and if you upgraded for free you should have Windows 10 64-bit.

 

Process Explorer shows that nothing is hogging the CPU resources which is good news.

Hi phillpower2,

 

Yes I am using Windows 10 64-bit and the HP Laptop game with Windows 7 and I upgraded to Windows 10 64-bit in July 2016.

 

Kind regards,

 

mlansky

Attached Thumbnails

  • Crucial System Scanner (Screenshot #3)(Weds. Nov. 16, 2016).jpg
  • Crucial System Scanner (Screenshot #4)(Weds. Nov. 16, 2016).jpg

  • 0

#22
FreeBooter

FreeBooter

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts

Hi mlansky,

 

You need to purchase two of 4GB DDR3L-1600 SODIMM memory your laptop supports 8 gigabytes of memory.

 

 

How to Add More Memory to Your Computer


  • 0

#23
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

Same Crucial RAM less expensive + free shipping here


  • 0

#24
mlansky

mlansky

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

Same Crucial RAM less expensive + free shipping here

Hi phillpower2,

 

So I should just purchase this RAM here:

Crucial 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model CT2KIT51264BF160BJ

 

So just grab that and I should be good to go ie. that's all I'll need? I've never installed RAM before is it fairly straight forward?

 

Thanks again,

 

mlansky


  • 0

#25
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

So I should just purchase this RAM here:

 

 

No link I`m afraid.

 

Upgrading the RAM on your computer is straight forward, just be sure to disconnect the mains power and battery first, ground yourself before handling the new and existing RAM, see pages 51 and 52 here for guidance.


  • 0

Advertisements


#26
mlansky

mlansky

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

So I should just purchase this RAM here:

 

 

No link I`m afraid.

 

Upgrading the RAM on your computer is straight forward, just be sure to disconnect the mains power and battery first, ground yourself before handling the new and existing RAM, see pages 51 and 52 here for guidance.

 

Hi phillpower2,

 

Sorry, I meant the link you posted here: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820148807

 

So that is all that I will need? Then just follow the steps that you listed in your previous post to install the RAM?

 

Kind regards,

 

mlansky


  • 0

#27
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

So that is all that I will need? Then just follow the steps that you listed in your previous post to install the RAM?

 

 

Correct  :thumbsup:

 

Any questions along the way please ask.


  • 0

#28
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts
Not heard back from you mlansky, do you still require assistance or is the issue now resolved, an update would be appreciated.

  • 0

#29
mlansky

mlansky

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

 

Not heard back from you mlansky, do you still require assistance or is the issue now resolved, an update would be appreciated.

 

 

Hi phillpower2,

 

Thanks again for all your help and patience, they are and were greatly appreciated. I think I'm good for now until I get the RAM and then I may have some more questions or require some assistance. Until then, I'm good.

 

Thanks for letting me know that there is nothing wrong with my laptop, checking out the specs or as you put it "the dedicated graphics chip to provide video it is provided by the CPU, the CPU in turn relies on the system memory for support up to a maximum of 1696MB, when you open multiple Windows it is both using up the RAM and putting additional load on the CPU which then heats things up enough for the internal cooling fan to kick in, basically the cooling fan is doing what it is meant to do."

 

I'll let you know once I get the RAM if I need any help going after I got through the 'info' that you listed up above.

 

Thank you once again, you have been a tremendous help!

 

Kind regards,

 

mlansky


  • 0

#30
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,779 posts

Hello mlansky,

 

I think I'm good for now until I get the RAM and then I may have some more questions or require some assistance. Until then, I'm good.

 

 

Sorry, didn`t realise that you were not making the purchase straight away, keep us posted, if we don`t hear back before I will check in with you after Xmas.


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP