Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Advice on distro to replace Windows XP, please.

• Please log in to reply

Channeal

Channeal

• PipPipPip
  • 879 posts
I am currently running Windows Xp on a 10-and-a-half-year-old Dell Dimension 9150 and am thinking about trying out Linux as an alternative to XP. I have no previous experience of using Linux, so would want to try a dual boot to start with. 

I have so far tried 3 versions of Linux which I have downloaded onto flash drives and have not encountered any real problem with any of them so far, apart from with hibernation which a Google search tells me is a common problem with my particular computer model. (All is okay if hibernation etc. is turned off).

Here are the distros I have tried: -

I also have a Linux Mint 18 Mate DVD which was given to me, but which I have not been able to try on the Dell (It works okay on my notebook, but when attempting to load it onto the Dell, I discovered that the DVD drive no longer works, so will probably have to be replaced). As a result of the DVD not working, I started out (before I realised that the DVD drive was faulty) thinking that my computer was too old to run it - which was the reason I tried out the xfce version, as it is said to be the best distro for old machines. When I discovered that it was the DVD which was at fault, I got adventurous and tried Zorin. :)