Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

cpu utilization capped at 20% per application?

• Please log in to reply

PhysicsNinja

PhysicsNinja

• Pip
  • 2 posts

I got my hands on a Dell Poweredge R900, with 64 GB of RAM and 5x 73 GB drives set up as a RAID5.  It has 4x guadcore Xeons and is running Windows Server 2008 R2.  The machine is pretty snappy...  boots up lightning fast and is incredibly responsive. 

I do predictive modeling for a living, and I'm trying to use it as a compute pool to play with some models of my own at home (pet-projects).  16 cores should rip through my simulations pretty quickly.  I'm running custom .net code (compiled, not run in Debug mode in the Visual Studio GUI).  I can launch an arbitrary number of simulation thread with each thread computing for 10 minutes or so.  But that is where things got interesting. 

Running 16 threads on my 16 cores I expected the CPUs to rail, the fans to spool up and some serious numbers to be crunched...   Instead I saw an average CPU utilization of 20%.  Each core was at the 20% level, and the speed per thread was way slower than my desktop PC (yup, about 5x slower).  I tried 7 threads as a test...  7 cores jumped to 20%, and each of the 7 threads ran about the same speed as each thread did in the 16 thread case.  So I figured why not try 48 threads?  3 threads per core should put each core at 60% right?  Nope...  20% on all cores again.  Each thread now visibly ran 3x slower than the 16 thread case too.  It seems the Performance monitor isn't lying to me.