Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XP Wireless - "It is not possible to disable the connection at thi

wireless windows xp

• Please log in to reply

shawnhalf

shawnhalf

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi, I have a cable modem connection with 3 computers hardwired to the cablemodem. All worked fine until I tried to fool around the other day with an old DLink router to try and get a wireless connection going, I'm no expert and I was having a hard time getting it working. Gave up last night, and today I tried moving some ethernet cable connections around and then attempted to see if my main (wired) laptop could get on the wireless network, so I went to CONTROL PANEL | NETWORK CONNECTIONS on my laptop, and DISabled my normal, wired "Lcal Area Connection" icon, and the ENabled my "Wireless Network COnnection" icon. It still couldn't detect the DLink wireless router, so I thought "well, enough fooling with that Dlink router, I just can't get it going", and tried to put my Network Connections back to my normal hard-wired state. So I right-clicked on the "Wireless Network Connection" icon and selected DISable, but this came up:

"It is not possible to disable the connection at this time. The connection may be using one or more protocols that do not support Plug and Play, or it may have been initiated by another user or the system account".