Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows 10 freezing/crashing that cannot be fixed! (Resolved).

- - - - - tech preview

Best Answer phillpower2 , 22 March 2017 - 09:18 AM

Glad we could help and thanks for letting us know that you no longer need assistance   You are welcome btw  Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#31
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Happy to say i installed the fan with no issues. The temps have gone all the way down to the 40s and stay constant 35-40 degrees. About to try a game. Ill tell you the result when i am done.

 

This proves that your cooling fan and heatsink were not cooling down the CPU as they should.

 

I didnt know if i should put thermal paste on the cpu and fan,

 

 

Did you not read the guide at the link that I provided, there was a sub link there for applying thermal compound to both AMD and Intel CPUs.

 

Tip

If using a computer and not a mobile phone, please avoid adding multiple posts while waiting for us to reply to your last, edit your last post to include anything that you wish to add, this will ensure nothing gets overlooked which can sometimes happen if a thread has more than one page.  


  • 0

Advertisements


#32
Pcgamer402

Pcgamer402

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
I still have the freezing. Should i order a new cpu?
  • 0

#33
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

I wouldn't suggest ordering anything at the moment as you have no way of knowing for sure what could be damaged, for now can you post a couple of new HWMonitor and Speedfan screenshots for us.


  • 0

#34
Pcgamer402

Pcgamer402

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
Oh woops. I ordered another q6600 off of newegg. It was $28 total and had all 5 stars. Its refurbished and ships from China so it will probably get here later. Atleast we know that if the q6600 doesnt work it is not my cpu.

Edited by Pcgamer402, 19 March 2017 - 03:31 PM.

  • 0

#35
Pcgamer402

Pcgamer402

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
Atleast we know if the q6600 doesnt work that it is not my cpu
  • 0

#36
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Polite reminder;

 

Tip

If using a computer and not a mobile phone, please avoid adding multiple posts while waiting for us to reply to your last, edit your last post to include anything that you wish to add, this will ensure nothing gets overlooked which can sometimes happen if a thread has more than one page.  

 

 

 

Atleast we know if the q6600 doesnt work that it is not my cpu 

 

 

We aim to save people money here and that is why I said;

 

 

I wouldn't suggest ordering anything at the moment as you have no way of knowing for sure what could be damaged, for now can you post a couple of new HWMonitor and Speedfan screenshots for us.

 

 

You mentioned getting error beeps so testing the RAM needs to be done, post the new HWMonitor and Speedfan screenshots for us first though.


  • 0

#37
Pcgamer402

Pcgamer402

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
Ok i will do that now let me turn it on. Also sorry i keep posting twice it is an accident. Also, do you think you will be able to figure out what part of ny system is corrupted? Or is it just a guess and check

Edited by Pcgamer402, 19 March 2017 - 04:53 PM.

  • 0

#38
Pcgamer402

Pcgamer402

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

There is all of them in order.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Speedfan.png
  • HWMonitor 1.png
  • HWMonitor 2.png

  • 0

#39
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Your temps are all very good now and with the exception of possibly the RAM so are the voltages, below are some quotes from your thread;

 

I am getting screenshots now. I will try to do it after gaming but it may freeze. Also, i hear 4 beeps when my pc turns on

 

 

 

Four short beeps: System timer failure 
 
One of the timers used for controlling motherboard system functions has an error. There's either a failure of the motherboard or one of the devices on the motherboard. 
 
Will wait on the screenshots for now but just so that you are aware 4 beeps can also mean a problem with the RAM which can also be associated with a MB device failure, a memory slot as just one example.

 

 

 

Polite reminder;

 

Tip

If using a computer and not a mobile phone, please avoid adding multiple posts while waiting for us to reply to your last, edit your last post to include anything that you wish to add, this will ensure nothing gets overlooked which can sometimes happen if a thread has more than one page.  

 

 

 

Atleast we know if the q6600 doesnt work that it is not my cpu 

 

 

We aim to save people money here and that is why I said;

 

 

I wouldn't suggest ordering anything at the moment as you have no way of knowing for sure what could be damaged, for now can you post a couple of new HWMonitor and Speedfan screenshots for us.

 

 

You mentioned getting error beeps so testing the RAM needs to be done, post the new HWMonitor and Speedfan screenshots for us first though.

 

Your RAM being DDR2 means that it is quite possibly 1.8V but if you look at the HWMonitor readings you will see that the VIN voltages 2 and 6 exceed 1.8V and VIN3 is way below 1.8V, we need to know the following;

 

The brand and model name or number of the RAM.

How many sticks of RAM you have and what slots the RAM sticks are in on your motherboard.


  • 0

#40
Pcgamer402

Pcgamer402

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
Actually, i have someone who is a tech person and was able to hook me up with a windows 7 pro key. I still have my windows 10 pro key also, but im back on windows 7 and it works perfectly. Thank you for all your help!
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts
✓  Best Answer

Glad we could help and thanks for letting us know that you no longer need assistance  :thumbsup:

 

You are welcome btw  :)


  • 0






Similar Topics


Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: tech preview

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP