Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Keyboard issue

keyboard pavilion

• Please log in to reply

Canary

Canary

• PipPipPip
  • 161 posts

Hi there,

I've got an HP Pavilion laptop, and I'm having problems with the keyboard.

I'm no expert but I think it's a software issue rather than a hardware issue, for the following reasons:

For no apparent reason, certain keys stop working without warning. The "5" "6" and "-" keys are serial offenders, but sometimes it's the whole row of numbers, the arrows, or other blocks of keys.

But the strange thing is that when I open a new program, such as Word, and start typing there, that often gets the keys working again. And when they are not working, it's sometimes only in certain programs. (If it was a hardware issue, surely they wouldn't work at all?)

Sometimes holding a broken key down for 10 seconds fixes the problem, and sometimes it doesn't.

I've also tried uninstalling the keyboard before rebooting and letting the computer reinstall the keyboard automatically. When it reboots, the keyboard works perfectly for a period, and then starts to play up again. (Again, I'm guessing that if this was a hardware issue, the problem would be there all the time rather than sporadically.)

And I've made sure all my drivers are up to date.

Is there anything I can do to address this problem?

(I wasn't sure which forum to post this is, so l opted for the hardware forum.)

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Canary, 01 April 2017 - 12:47 PM.

Advertisements

Canary

Canary

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip