Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

A process is suddenly preventing my PC from shutting down (Resolved).

- - - - -

Best Answer phillpower2 , 31 May 2017 - 06:37 AM

Thanks   Create a new system restore point.Run Autoruns as Admin.Disable only the following two entries, restart the computer and test. + "Hotkey.lnk" "HkeyTray" "CLEVO CO." "c:\prog... Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#1
adifrank

adifrank

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Hi.

I'm using a Sager NP8152-S laptop, running Windows 10.

I've had it for approximately 9 months.

since a few days ago, every time I want to shutdown the laptop or restart it, I get a message that there's a process still running that requires to force quit it, to continue to shutdown/restart the computer.

The message looks like this: 

SBIh7ha.png

 

When looking at my task manager I see a process with a similar icon (possibly related?)

 

GKf5WZd.png

 

I tried googling the issue but didn't find any helpful hits. Can anyone please help me troubleshoot this issue?  :rolleyes:

 

Thanks

 


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
FreeBooter

FreeBooter

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts

When an application fails to respond during shutdown a dialog box is displayed prompting the user to either end it now or to wait. Enabling the value AutoEndTasks will take care of the non-responding application without user intervention. This is often referred to as “Force Exit”. Please run the batch script as a administrator to close all running programs when you shutdown your computer. You can download the batch script from below url link.

 

 

"Close All Running Programs When You Shutdown Your Computer"

https://www.dost-tec....php?f=26&t=534


  • 0

#3
lvlpost

lvlpost

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

mine will do the same thing when i don't shut down any open programs first. the forced shutdown is a concern but when i shut all programs down first, the machine shuts down very quickly.


  • 0

#4
adifrank

adifrank

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Hi guys, thanks for the replies  :yes:

Just to be clear — I don't really know what this program is. 

It is not a program I ever used or started. I definitely did not install it. In fact I can't find how access this program even if I want to.

I think it came installed with the laptop.

The thing is, I never had this issue until a few days ago.


Edited by adifrank, 30 May 2017 - 05:33 AM.

  • 0

#5
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,661 posts

Hello folks  :)

 

That is s Clevo/Sager tool that allows you to customise your keyboard shortcuts, as you don`t use or seem to want it see if you can remove it in the apps, see tutorial courtesy of Brink here


  • 0

#6
adifrank

adifrank

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Hi Phil,

As I said, I don't see the program anywhere or know how to access it.

I cannot find anything called "HotKey" or "HKey" in the list of applications, so even if I wanted to remove it,  I do not know how.

 

That being said, I would really rather not remove it, if I didn't have to. The fact that the program exists on my system doesn't bother me. But why is it suddenly causing this problem after 9 months of smooth sailing? I was hoping there was some way to just fix the issue rather than uninstall the software.


  • 0

#7
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,661 posts

Hello adifrank,

 

It could have come from a recent update but can`t say for sure, if it is not in apps lets try something else;

 

Can you post an Autoruns log for us, see here  

 

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.

2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".

3: Click on the "Hide Signed Microsoft and Windows Entries” option.

4: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.

5: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop > when you click on File > Save you will then get the option to Save as type, click the drop down tab, change it to Text and then click the Save button.

6: Attach to your next reply.

 

Tutorial here


  • 0

#8
adifrank

adifrank

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Autoruns attached.

 

I couldn't find a "Hide Signed Microsoft and Windows Entries” option to click on
But under Options I marked "Hide Microsoft Entries" and Hide Windows Entries" like so (hope this is what you meant):

http://i.imgur.com/A1UNtPy.png

 

(Edit: Hmm I clicked the attachment button and attached the txt file, but don't see anything attached to my previous entry. Please let me know if to re-upload)


Edited by adifrank, 31 May 2017 - 03:29 AM.

  • 0

#9
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,661 posts
I couldn't find a "Hide Signed Microsoft and Windows Entries” option to click on

 

 

You found it, must change my canned txt accordingly  :thumbsup:

 

After Choose File did you then click on the Attach This File tab.


  • 0

#10
adifrank

adifrank

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Okay -- should be attached now : )

Attached Files


  • 0

#11
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,661 posts
✓  Best Answer

Thanks  :thumbsup:

 

Create a new system restore point.

Run Autoruns as Admin.

Disable only the following two entries, restart the computer and test.

 

+ "Hotkey.lnk" "HkeyTray" "CLEVO CO." "c:\program files (x86)\hotkey\hkeytray.exe" "8/18/2016 5:13 PM" ""

+ "PowerBiosServer" "CLEVO Hotkey Service" "CLEVO CO." "c:\program files (x86)\hotkey\hotkeyservice.exe" "8/10/2016 4:37 AM" ""

 

Just so that you are aware, you should be ok but there is an outside chance that your shortcut keys may be affected. 


  • 0

#12
adifrank

adifrank

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Problem solved and no issues with shortcuts that I can tell (just tried a few).

Thanks Phil : )


  • 0

#13
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,661 posts

You are welcome adifrank  :)

 

Glad we could help and thank you for the follow up  :thumbsup:


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP