Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Win 10 very slow to boot, no audio

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply

pnoyes

pnoyes

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Hi, I'm new to GeekstoGo blog, with a problem I'm sure you've heard.  Win 10 slow to boot, plus numerous other problems; like no audio on a new computer.  

When I say slow to boot i'm talking about 5 minutes, and some fooling around after my desktop is full and apparently ready to go.  I got the Farbar recovery scan tool, anyone who can read it?  One thing I do notice during the wait for the booting.  It says "waiting for cache" and that stays for quite a while.  Also, it blocks access to my Device Manager, and then it's impossible to get administrator privileges.  Have tried everything.

Appreciate any help or advice from anyone who has "been there, done that".

Advertisements

joaneee

joaneee

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Hello, 

I've had a similar problem on Windows 7 before I upgraded to Windows 10. For me the issue was that the HDD was already failing (it was a couple of years old at the time). Have you tried checking your disk's health? 

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,749 posts

:welcome:   pnoyes,

Win 10 slow to boot, plus numerous other problems; like no audio on a new computer.  

Being a new computer depending on the problem you may need to get this sorted under warranty, we can help if it is software related but if it looks like faulty hardware we best not in case it voids your warranty.