Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help here

• Please log in to reply

udya

udya

• PipPip
  • 11 posts

Hello, i'm kind of a tech/computer noob here and recently my usb wifi adapter broke so i bought a new one. When i attach the usb wifi adapter to the back of the computer port it won't want to work and when i try to connect to any wifi networks it displays this message ''Windows is unable to connect to the selected network'' while if i attach it in the front of the computer on the side it works almost perfectly. Is there a problem with the back ports and a solution how to fix it? Please help me and thank you.

My OS is Windows 7 if that will provide any useful information.

Edited by udya, 13 June 2018 - 10:09 AM.

Advertisements

dmccoy

dmccoy

GeekU Junior

• GeekU Junior
  • 1,295 posts
It may be that the back USB port is USB 3.0 and it is not compatible. If the port is blue it is USB 3.0 and black is USB 2.0. Do you know if your adapter is compatible with USB 3.0? Have you tested the port with another device such as mouse to verify it works correctly?

Edited by dmccoy, 13 June 2018 - 10:16 AM.

udya

udya

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

It may be that the back USB port is USB 3.0 and it is not compatible. If the port is blue it is USB 3.0 and black is USB 2.0.

My last USB was a 2.0 too and i have a black port but while it was working it was attached to the back port but the new one doesn't seem to like to work..

dmccoy

dmccoy

GeekU Junior

• GeekU Junior
  • 1,295 posts