Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Graphics Card problem


Best Answer phillpower2 , 14 April 2019 - 04:44 AM

One of life`s mysteries how the HD 5450 worked with such a weak PSU which as an asides is very unlikely to even be able to produce the claimed 240W, generic Chinese imports are renowned for being o... Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

I recently switched over a new Graphics Card for my friends computer.

Unfortunately once or twice a day he's screen briefly goes black and comes back on. With a message saying something  like  1 Display driver NVIDIA Windows Kernel Mode Driver, 391.35 ! error and repairing itself etc.Have tried reinstalling it just in case there maybe be some corrupt files and i have also looked into a fix that asks you to change 2 settings via the Nvidia control panel.

 

Power Management mode - changed to Preferred Maximum Performance
Vertical Sync - changed t0 turned off

 

Neither really fix this issue. So does anyone else know what to be causing this problem and how to fix it?

 

His Graphics card is a Asus Nvidia GEFORCE GT710

 


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

Hello Skelly2019,

 

Can you post the brand and model name or number of the power supply (PSU).

Download then run Speccy (free) and post the resultant url for us, details here, this will provide us with information about your computer hardware + any software that you have installed that may explain the present issue/s. 

 

To publish a Speccy profile to the Web:

  1. In Speccy, click File, and then click Publish Snapshot.
  2. In the Publish Snapshot dialog box, click Yes to enable Speccy to proceed.
  3. Speccy publishes the profile and displays a second Publish Snapshot. You can open the URL in your default browser, copy it to the clipboard, or close the dialog box.

  • 0

#3
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

http://speccy.pirifo...B0C3YnPO0LSHvJv

 

Power Supply is a HP DPS-240MB -1 B Rev

 

Its a HP Desktop PC


  • 0

#4
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts
Couple of things that will cause you problems.
 
The Asus Nvidia GEFORCE GT710 video card requires a minimum of a 300W PSU that can produce at least 22 amps on the +12V rail, the present HP DPS-240MB -1 B Rev PSU is below both the wattage and amperage that is required by the GT 710.
 

Having more than one AV installed on your computer is bad, it will slow down the computer, cause internet connection problems and leave you with no AV protection at all if they cancel each other out as they fight for resources.

 

I recommend sticking with MSE and getting rid of Avast and all of its now unwelcome additional features.

 

If any AV product that you have is a paid for version you should always make sure that you have a copy of the product key kept somewhere safe just in case you ever wish to reinstall it.

 

Avast clean removal info here

 

Antivirus
Microsoft Security Essentials
Antivirus: Enabled
Company Name: Microsoft
Product Version: 4.10.209.0
Virus Signature Database: Up to date
Avast Antivirus
Antivirus: Enabled
Virus Signature Database: Up to date

  • 0

#5
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Slightly odd that this problem has only started in the last week and has been ok before.

I prefer the Avast one myself and remove all the useless add-ons. But if the other is best then i may have to use just that one.


  • 0

#6
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

The GPU is an older model so slightly less power hungry than some newer cards and what generally happens is that the card will weaken over time, you should also keep in mind that the more demanding the load on the card and the rather weak PSU the more that both will struggle and generate more heat which along with power spikes/surges are the two most common causes of hardware failure, the GT 710 itself is nowhere near a gaming level card and is best suited to school and office type work.

 

Nvidia GeForce GT 710 power requirements and review here and Nvidea specs here both clearly state that a 300W PSU is required.

 

Stick with Avast if you wish, as long as you are aware that it has other performance affecting things going on these days, adding or removing Avast Antivirus program components guide here please note the Avast warning about being careful what you disable.


  • 0

#7
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Its not used for Gaming. As its just used for online buying and watching youtube stuff mostly.

My card is different from that one you posted a link too

 

https://www.asus.com.../GT710-SL-2GD5/

 

I'm aware of the Avast add and remove programs.


Edited by Skelly2019, 30 March 2019 - 06:48 AM.

  • 0

#8
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

The GT 710 chip is made by Nvidea not ASUS and the power requirements are as stated by both Games Debate + Nvidea and Nvidea are the ones of whose recommendations you should follow when it comes to power requirements.

 

Remove the presently installed software for the GT 710 shut down and correctly/safely remove the add on video card and use the MBs integrated video chip instead, the GT 710 is such a basic card that you will most likely not notice any difference if only web browsing and watching youtube.


  • 0

#9
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

OK. i will pass on this information.

 

Someone asked me to do a FRST

 

Noticed these 2 errors in Addition txt file.

 

Error: (03/29/2019 10:03:31 PM) (Source: Service Control Manager) (EventID: 7009) (User: )
Description: A timeout was reached (60000 milliseconds) while waiting for the ASUS Com Service service to connect.

Error: (03/29/2019 06:22:15 PM) (Source: nvlddmkm) (EventID: 13) (User: )
Description: Event-ID 13


  • 0

#10
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts
Someone asked me to do a FRST

 

 

FRST is not used outside of the malware removal forums so we cannot comment on the log results I`m afraid but fwiw you cannot seriously troubleshoot anything while you still have the Nvidia GeForce GT 710 card fitted and the weak 240W PSU still present.

 

Remove the presently installed software for the GT 710 shut down and correctly/safely remove the add on video card and use the MBs integrated video chip instead,

 

 

I doubt that you will have any but let us know if you still have problems after removing the GT 710 and testing using the MBs onboard graphics solution.


  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

OK

 

Video card and card software have been removed and we shall see if there's no more problems


  • 0

#12
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

:thumbsup:


  • 0

#13
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

He had this flagged up in his Action Centre this morning.

 

Have copied and pasted all together. Think all these errors are for when the video card was installed as all files in that folder dont contain any new ones.

 

 

 

https://pixhost.to/s...videoerrors.jpg


Edited by Skelly2019, 03 April 2019 - 06:59 AM.

  • 0

#14
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

Nothing there for the month of April which suggests that there has been no problems with using the integrated graphics chip and 240W PSU.


  • 0

#15
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Had a similar incident last night. Video had slowly down and then had to reactivate my aero themed background. Shall see if it happens again today.


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP