Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Graphics Card problem


Best Answer phillpower2 , 14 April 2019 - 04:44 AM

One of life`s mysteries how the HD 5450 worked with such a weak PSU which as an asides is very unlikely to even be able to produce the claimed 240W, generic Chinese imports are renowned for being o... Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#16
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

Aero is best disabled when there is no dedicated video card present Frequently Asked Questions for Windows Aero*


  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

ok


  • 0

#18
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

Any repeat of the original problems over the past nine days since you removed the add on video card.


  • 0

#19
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

All seems good


  • 0

#20
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

Which at least proves that the 240W PSU is still ok for powering the basic hardware, as to your option/s, getting the GT710 tested to see if using a below spec PSU has damaged it is about all that you can do, some tech stores will test it for free in the hope of making a sale should the card prove to be bad, some will charge a small fee for testing so I would suggest that you ask them first.


  • 0

#21
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

My friend confessed to me that he had a Radeon HD5240 before using this GT710 and the Radeon used 400W. 100 more than the new card and he never had a problem with it. Hmm


  • 0

#22
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

My friend confessed to me that he had a Radeon HD5240 before using this GT710 and the Radeon used 400W. 100 more than the new card and he never had a problem with it. Hmm

 

Hmm indeed, there is no such card, never has there been, regardless of this, we don`t determine what PSU is required the card manufacturers do and if you ignore their guidance you only have yourself to blame when the card fails.


  • 0

#23
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Sorry it should be Radeon HD 5450

 

Its washis problem not mine.


  • 0

#24
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts

Well a Radeon HD 5450 requiring a 400W PSU is correct, did the card happen to fail while being powered by the 240W PSU, we have to be both polite and non judgemental but we must also be honest, the 240W PSU was no good for the less power hungry GT710 so not sure how it would power a card that requires a 400W PSU.


  • 0

#25
Skelly2019

Skelly2019

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

That Radeon worked fine surprisingly. It was only when he put this new GT710 in. That he started to get the problems. Both where 2GB cards!?!?!?! Why change something that isnt broke i say.


  • 0

Advertisements


#26
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,103 posts
✓  Best Answer

One of life`s mysteries how the HD 5450 worked with such a weak PSU which as an asides is very unlikely to even be able to produce the claimed 240W, generic Chinese imports are renowned for being overrated and it is not uncommon for a PSU labelled as 240W to only produce 180W when tested.

 
Why change something that isnt broke i say.

 

 

Couldn`t agree with you more, newer is not always better.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP