Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I'm going to have to make some tough decisions

Best Answer debodun , 30 January 2020 - 11:42 AM

Thanks for the tips. Yesterday I did a MBAM full system scan since I had to be out for a few hours. When I returned home, I saw the HD light was still on and thought the scan was still running... Go to the full post »

• Please log in to reply

debodun

debodun

• PipPipPip
  • 566 posts

Since I use Windows 7 and Microsoft support is now ending.

I can
1) continue to us Windows 7 and hope for the best,
2) get a new computer with Windows 10,
3) get a Chromebook and not have to worry about updates and security (however I don't know how to set that up or get it to connect to the Internet)
4) give up being Online

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,716 posts

What about upgrading to Windows 10, folk are still doing so for free.

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts

Gday debodom, 

An alternative is to see if a free upgrade to W10 may be OK for you.

Read this topic > http://www.geekstogo...view=getnewpost

If you have questions about the upgrade, please ask Rkinner, on that topic, as he has performed the upgrade himself.

Reply here and let us know how it goes. 

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts

Gday Phill.

Your post uploaded while I was composing mine.

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,716 posts

Gday Michael,