Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer boots into Windows after restart only, can't enter setup


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#121
Andro

Andro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

These are BIOS settings, Boot Mode is set to UEFI and Legacy, is that ok ?

 

OS is installed on MBR, yes.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20210819_1852181.jpg

  • 0

Advertisements


#122
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

You should change that to Legacy Only.


  • 0

#123
Andro

Andro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Changed to Legacy Only, now I got blue screen

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20210819_1907311.jpg

  • 0

#124
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

What are the options for Other PCI ROM Priority?


  • 0

#125
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

Changed to Legacy Only, now I got blue screen

That is much better. If you have a bootable USB drive, there should be a key to press during startup for the Boot Menu. Selecting the USB drive during startup should have you boot from a bootable device.


Edited by JSntgRvr, 19 August 2021 - 11:30 AM.
Typo

  • 0

#126
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

Try tapping on F12 during startup and see if you can reach the boot options. If your USB bootable device is inserted, it should appear on the list.


  • 0

#127
Andro

Andro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Other PCI Device ROM Priority is currently set at UEFI OpROM.

 

It is F12 and I can boot from USB now, just don't know why is the same USB appeared twice...anyway I selected first one

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20210819_2124501.jpg
  • IMG_20210819_2138541.jpg

  • 0

#128
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

Since the OS is in a legacy Mode, all should be change to Legacy.

 

Run this command at the prompt:

 

bootrec /rebuildbcd 

 

Let me know the outcome.


  • 0

#129
Andro

Andro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Other PCI Device ROM Priority is currently set at UEFI OpROM.

Changed to Legacy OpROM,

 

Operation completed successfully, after restart it boots into Windows, if I turn it off and on again, it freezes at Windows logo.


  • 0

#130
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

While in the Advanced Options, is there one to Reset the PC?


  • 0

Advertisements


#131
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

Are there documents you need to backup? The second hard drive, what is being used for? Are there any important document in it?


  • 0

#132
Andro

Andro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
I don't see advanced options section, do u mean load optimized defaults maybe?

No need to backup again, I already did that when I reinstalled Windows. Second hard drive is being used for bigger files like movies

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20210820_122515.jpg

  • 0

#133
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

That is the BIOS. I am referring, the Advanced Menu when you boot to the USB bootable drive, before reaching the Command prompt. If unavailable, How where you able to install Windows?


  • 0

#134
Andro

Andro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Oh u mean Advanced options in Windows setup where Startuo repair, cmd... is ? I don't have option Reset PC, please check photo.

 

I inserted USB in the slot, waited 2 or 3 mins before Windows setup appeared on the screen, where u choose language, time and keyboard and then started with installation.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20210820_2248341.jpg

  • 0

#135
JSntgRvr

JSntgRvr

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 11,501 posts

I believe we will need to reinstall Windows. We have fixed the boot process twice, but you always end up on a Frozen Screen. The reasons are countless and Windows is not allowing us to review the installation. I am enclosing a document that explain How to Clean Install Windows 10. I urge you that you read this document. Chances are you will need a Product Key.

 

The most important is that your BIOS is now on a legacy MBR mode, so it will be easier for Windows to detect that. Make sure you run Diskpart as stated, and its commands:

 

Diskpart

List Disk

Select Disk 0 (That is Disk zero)

Clean

Convert MBR

Exit

Exit

 

Keep us posted on your progress.

 

Attached File  Completely Clean Install of Windows 10 - MCT USB Method.zip   13.79KB   48 downloads


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP