Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help with Miner.Bitcoinminer Activity [Solved]

• Please log in to reply

weisation

weisation

• PipPip
  • 13 posts

I am constantly getting Norton warnings about a bitcoin miner virus for the past 2 days and I have already ran Malwarebytes and Norton antivirus scans many times but I am unable to find anything. I am a complete noob that has downloaded Farbar and ran a scan to create some log files but I am afraid to continue as I have read that many people have destroyed their computers using the tool uneducated. Please help!

Attached Files

Advertisements

DR M

DR M

The Grecian Geek

• Malware Removal
  • 4,096 posts

Hi, weisation.

Welcome to GTF Forums. EPFGbk7.gif

I will be assisting you regarding your computer's issues. Here, we will check your computer for malware.

Please, adhere to the guidelines below, and then carefully follow, with the same order, all the instructions after:

1. Always ask before acting. Do not continue if you are not sure, or if something unexpected happens!

2. Do not run any tools unless instructed to do so. Also, do not uninstall or install any software during the procedure, unless I ask you to do so.

3. If your computer seems to start working normally, don't abandon the topic. Even if your system is behaving normally, there may still be some malware remnants left over. Additionally, malware can re-infect the computer if some remnants are left. Therefore, please complete all requested steps to make sure any malware is successfully eradicated from your PC.