Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Networking a Printer

• Please log in to reply

JerryJustin

JerryJustin

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
I am trying to hook up a computer to an existing network that has a networked printer. I just installed XP on this machine, and want to be able to print something from this (new) computer to the networked printer.

The printer is a Kyocera Mita Monochrome Copier / MFP model 3035.

I know the IP address of the printer, but I am very new to XP. (I only started like, Tuesday.) How would I connect my computer to that printer, assuming there are no differences between my computer and the others that are on the network already?

Anyone, please help! I really am almost sick with anxiety because of this! Thanks!

Jerry

Edited by JerryJustin, 24 June 2005 - 07:04 AM.

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
how are the computer''s networked? is it a peer-to-peer (no server)? or do you have a client-server network (obviously with a server and a domain)?

if you guys are doing peer-to-peer then you have to join the pc to the workgroup.
if it is client-server you need to join the domain.

you should just be able to add the printer relatively easily.

is the printer on a print server? or does it have it's own nic card? or is it directly connected to a pc on the network and shared from there?

JerryJustin

JerryJustin

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts