Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Freecom Classic External Hard Drive

• Please log in to reply

DrTroy

DrTroy

• Pip
  • 3 posts
I just bought this today.I've been reading the manual & it's saying something about creating about a sync folder.
Now,I'm not computer literate so my question is,the files that I want to store there,can I not just move them onto the drive or do I have to have this sync folder :tazz:

Advertisements

Samm

Samm

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,476 posts
I'm not an expert on this particular subject but as far as I know....
you should be able to simply use the external drive as normal (ignoring the sync folder). Anything that you do place in the sync folder allows the files on the internal hard drives to be synchronized with ones on the external or vice versa. eg if 2 copies of a file exist with different dates for example, when synchronized, the older copy should be replaced with the newer copy.

Please correct me anyone if I am talking complete crap here, this explaination has been based largely on an educated guess!

DrTroy

DrTroy

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I'm not an expert on this particular subject but as far as I know....