Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows med. player

• Please log in to reply

Night_Shift

Night_Shift

• PipPip
  • 40 posts
Okay, I'mma noob here so uh..... im gonna start by first asking help, what i need help in is the codec stuff....when i try to load my avi files what happens is that my player says it's requesting codecs then right after it says, "Error Downloading Codec" and it says i have a file with a "tag 85" sorta audio, I try to click the exclimation mark you see beside the vid if there is somthing wrong, but when i try to download the files i need, it says things like tag 85 not found, try.....blah balh balh, and i still can't find it. Is this number tag some kind reference thing? Please if you can help me E-mail me or just post. knowing anything would make me happy :tazz:

<big>Thanks<big>

Advertisements

Night_Shift

Night_Shift

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
Oh i almost forgot, If you have any problems with downloading codecs I maybe able to help unless you have a problem like mine :tazz: Post up if ya need me!

willow28

willow28

• PipPip
  • 82 posts
Sounds like you may need to update your codecs. Here are the 2 major ones that I know of:-
DivX Codecs

Xvid Codecs

Here is some more handy info on Codecs too :tazz:
CODECS-Glossary of terms

Night_Shift

Night_Shift

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
Wow i guess i should say thanks, but then again my computer is probably the problem....I really appreciate the help..thanks again :tazz: wait.........what do i do if it still doesn't work?

willow28