Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Another router issue!

• Please log in to reply

Sentoria

Sentoria

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Now, I'm pretty new at this, I've set up this router with two wired connections before. An Apple G3 and a regular PC. Never had a problem. I have a D-Link router. About two months ago I decided to get a HP laptop that could go wireless. Everything well and good, until today, when after 3 hours of browsing the net, all of a sudden the laptop disconnected and now it tells me that it does not see the wireless network. Does it have anything to do with AOL? My friend was checking her email there. But she does that daily. :tazz:
I even have a HP ipaq that sees the wireless, the laptop does not.
Thank you in advance!!!

Advertisements

Chronos0001

Chronos0001

• PipPip
  • 43 posts
Hi, first off lets check a few things....

You say that you have wireless and wired... lets concentrate on the wireless...

Every system that connects to a router is identified by a MAC address. Find the MAC address of the system that is not recognizing the network, and see if your router is seeing that system by going to a working system and querying your browser. ( Most home browsers have a default IP address of 192.168.8.1 . Your may be diferrent consult your router documentation) You can view this information by finding the area in your router that identifies "attached devices" or some equivalent