Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Memory leak, pls help

• Please log in to reply

tigersvain

tigersvain

• PipPip
  • 29 posts
Hi everyone, i think i have a problem, lol i'm a noob when it comes to this stuff but i'm tryin to learn, anyways, i have 2 128mb sdram sticks in my computer but its only showing i have 248mb total, and that 40mb of it is free :tazz: is this right or is something going terribly wrong, i'm tryin to play guild wars but its laggin just enuff to be annoying, figure its my ram kickin my butt, lol any help would be appreicated thanx

Advertisements

macten

macten

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 638 posts
I'd say you need at least another 256M of RAM. Buy quality like Kingston or Crucial....Memory leaks are a result of programs not releasing all of their memory when you close them. That's one reason why I shut my pc down every night....

Edited by macten, 06 July 2005 - 04:03 PM.

tigersvain

tigersvain

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
yeah, i was thinking of buyin another stick, but i was just wonderin if thats right that my computer would suck out so much of my memory like that

Johanna

Johanna

The Leather Lady

• 3,038 posts

Memory leaks are a result of programs not releasing all of their memory when you close them. That's one reason why I shut my pc down every night....

That is not necessary in XP.