Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Video Cards and its Power Cables

• Please log in to reply

tennisgiant21

tennisgiant21

• PipPip
  • 30 posts
Ok, this probably seems like a really stupid question to all of you, but I am new to the video card world, and I just wanted to be sure on something.

So I just purchased an MSI nVidia 6600GT, and it works fine so far, no problems at all. But I noticed that when I installed it, its power cable was y shaped, meaning one end connected to the actual card, while the other 2 ends were left to connect to the CPU (i think that's what it's called, not terribly sure on the terminology). The bad news was that I only had one remaining cable left in my PC to connect to the "y"shaped power cable. So one end is still just hanging out by itself.

So far I have just been browsing the internet and whatnot, and my computer and the video card seem to be running fine. However, when I decide to start to play games, and where I depend on my video card the most, will the card start to overheat and malfunction b/c its only connected by one cable? Will I need to buy another cable of some sort?

Advertisements

ratmilk

ratmilk

• PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
Don't think so, same deal with my 6600, once i did not have it plugged in for ages. No problems there...

gtippery

gtippery

• PipPip
  • 39 posts