Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Earth

• Please log in to reply

bigdave

bigdave

• PipPip
  • 45 posts
Ok, maybe this is a stupid question but I have very little knowledge about the workings of electricity. I recently built my on custom PC and all is well. However I cannot figure this wire out (picture attached). Is it an earth wire? If so, what am I meant to do with it or where should I put it? If not, can you shed some light onto what it actually is?

Any and all help is needed and appreciated.

Thanks,
Big Dave.

Attached Thumbnails

• Image000.jpg

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
that's a pretty grainy picture you got there. any way of getting a better view, more light perhaps? where is that wire coming from? the power supply? it may be a case ground (earth to you euros)

Edited by dsenette, 07 July 2005 - 09:36 AM.

bigdave

bigdave

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts

that's a pretty grainy picture you got there. any way of getting a better view, more light perhaps? where is that wire coming from? the power supply? it may be a case ground (earth to you euros)

View Post

It just may be a case ground. It's located near the other case wires (USB, Firewire, LEDs). That pic is the best I can get now. It's basically a black wire with a metal tip (as you can see circled in the photo) attached to the case. Any chance you know what to do with it?

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP