Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

cs lag with xp

• Please log in to reply

honest1

honest1

• Pip
  • 8 posts
I just recently upgraded my windows 2000 to windows xp. And I played cs all the time with win 2000 with pings from 20-70 but now my pings in cs are on average 500 ever since I upgraded to xp. I have been using dsl for two years and now I dont know why it conflicts with my xp. I've shut down most of my processes while playing and that has not helped either.. I need help. :tazz:

Advertisements

hvc801

hvc801

• PipPip
  • 36 posts
Alright, your ping has nothing to do with windows. Ping is all internet connection. check your dsl, maybe its on the frits. go to google.com and type in - bandwith test, and test waht your speed is. maybe your dsl modem is not set up for windows xp. call up your dsl provider, and talk to them about it. certain modems work for different operating systems.

Edited by hvc801, 09 July 2005 - 11:28 PM.

ratmilk

ratmilk

• PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
Having windows XP can effect your ping, but not that much. The networking in Xp is much greater than in win2000, but you would only notice a +/- ping of .01 or so (you wouldnt notice it)

You probably have spyware which is doing its stuff in the background.

honest1

honest1

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
no...I dont have any spyware...I just reformatted my whole computer because I just had way too many unused programs...

starjax

starjax

Global Moderator

• Global Moderator
  • 6,678 posts