Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

problem with ethernet card

• Please log in to reply

e&jemerson

e&jemerson

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
i am new at this guys so bear with me. i had a major problem with computer and had to format and start over. when i loaded a new xp disk i bought at a computer show i had a few files that could not be found. i have no sound now because i am missing the file i need to install my soundblaster card. also my computer sees my ethernet card but when i try to connect to the net it says something is not hooked up. could i have bought a bad disk at the show thats is the root of all this????????? please help but keep it in layman terms i am pretty green. :tazz:

Advertisements

cnmsales

cnmsales

• PipPipPip
  • 123 posts
First off we need to make sure your ethernet card reinstalled properly.

We can start off by going to your control panel and clicking on system icon. Now click on the hardware tab. Then click on the device manager button.

Once in device manager look down the list untill you find Network adapters and click the + sign beside it. If your NIC card is installed correctly you should see it listed here without a red X or yellow exclamation point beside it. If it has a red X right click on it and make sure it is enabled.

If it is enabled and has a red x or yellow! then it needs to be reinstalled.