Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Building my own computer... Are these parts OK?

• Please log in to reply

kr580

kr580

• PipPip
  • 69 posts
So far I have this picked out. Is it all compatible? I read all the specs a few times over and it looks good to me but I'm no expert. I could have easily made a mistake.

Case

Mobo

Proccessor

RAM

Video Card

Hard Drive

DVD/CD Drive

Win XP Home

USB PCI Card

And a few questions:

1. Is that Mobo good? I don't really know what too look for. I just picked one that seemed good.
2. Do I need to get a heatsink/fan for the P4 chip or is that all included?
3. Would I need any extra case fans? If yes, what kind?
4. Is that USB PCI good? I read the reviews and a couple people had trouble installing it.
5. Is there anything else you recommend me getting at all? Anything.
6. Lastly... Is there anything else I would need to buy that doesn't come with it all (wires, fans, adapters, etc... anything)
if I think of any more I'll post em.

Sorry for the questions. I've never done this before and want to be sure.

Thanks in advance - Kevin :tazz:

Advertisements

seanshaffer23

seanshaffer23

• PipPip
  • 41 posts
seems like you're trying to save a lot of money. you picked a lot of cheap stuff. if i were you i'd look around newegg.com for a barebone kit and read the reviews. most people post what they put in their rig and if it works for them, maybe it'll work for you too.

kr580

kr580

• Topic Starter