Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Installing Processor Problem

• Please log in to reply

gaco56

gaco56

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi all. I'm new to the forum. I'm no computer expert; but I am also not a novice. I learn as I go.

My son has a computer that is not a brand name. It's about 4-5 years old. It has Win 98SE as the OS. It has 256 MB Ram, and a Pentium II MMX 450 Mhz processor. It had a Western Digitial 4.6 GB HD. I recently installed a WD HD with 20 GB. The video card is a TNT2 Model 64 32 MB card. I have his computer wireless networked to mine via a Linksys wireless card.

The computer has been running pretty good. My son, due to the computer's limitations/age does not have alot loaded onto it. He uses it to browse the 'net, and to play a couple video games he likes.

We've tried to put Windows XP on it and keep getting various blue screen error messages. A buddy of mine, who works on computers, took a look at it, and thought it was due to not enough memory. So he put 512 MD Ram in it. That didn't work.

We ran into some snags when we put the new and bigger HD in it. It was acting erratically when trying to re-load Win 98SE....meaning that after partitioning the new HD - the format process and the Win 98 setup was moving real slow. After numerous tries it would finally load in OK.