Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Problem With Spontaneous Shutdown and Freezing

• Please log in to reply

orkney

orkney

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Good Evening,

I am new to Geeks To Go and this is my first post. As the post title states, I am experiencing difficulties with both spontaneous shutdowns and with my machine freezing up. Other difficulties are as follows:

Windows clock is reporting the wrong time and date

Clock speed is being reported incorrectly (have resolved that...but still curious)

WinPatrol is continually reporting that a new program has been installed (see attachment)

I routinely run both Ad-Aware and Spybot (scanned with the usual tracking cookie results...deleted). My virus scanner is Macafee Enterprise...is up to date. Scanned with no infected files found.

Computer is c. 4 years old. AMD AthlonXP 1700+, 768Mb DDR RAM, WinXP Pro (Windows Update is current).

Seems like the WinPatrol message is at the root of the problem, but a search tells me that it is a MS executable. I suspect otherwise, but am over my head at this point.

Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Orkney

Attached Thumbnails

• Search_Result.jpg
  • error.jpg

Advertisements

Johanna

Johanna

The Leather Lady

• 3,038 posts
Check your time/date in BIOS (tap delete key at boot, usually)

Dumprep is a non-essential system process used for reporting errors to MS. It is harmless.