Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

System Shut-Down After Dialing In

• Please log in to reply

lostlostlost

lostlostlost

• Pip
  • 4 posts
[FONT=Arial][SIZE=7][COLOR=blue] ;)
I'm no computer expert. I am trying to set my husband up with a 'new' old computer (something I thought would be a piece of cake), however each time I try to sign him on to the internet, I hear the familiar dialing sound, a pause as if the connection is being allowed, and then the screen goes to black and begins to re-boot.
I've found myself checking all of the obvious places like connection properties and modem properties but I have no idea how to fix this.
I am running Windows XP Pro and using a standard 56k ISP.
Is there anyone out there who can offer any suggestions before I become COMPLETLY frustrated?!?! :tazz:
Thx in advance!

Advertisements

Les1451

Les1451

• PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
Check Device Manager to see if a previous modem installation exists, if so remove it.
You could also try uninstalling / reinstalling the current modem (switch off the computer in between).

lostlostlost

lostlostlost

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 4 posts