Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

• Please log in to reply

dmlutchen

dmlutchen

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hello board,

My name is David and this is my first time to this website Im not a "techie" by any means, Im 25 and use to hate computers but im starting to learn more as I go. I see alot of you users really know what you are talking about so maybe you can help me. Hmm...where to start, well, I have had my PC for a while ( Windows 2000 Pro Dell 1.0ghz 256RAM 40gig hard drive) And I just got connected to high speed internet. After talking to the shop where I baught my PC and my ISP I started to learn about all the adware, virus's and stuff that can hurt my PC. So I started to go out there and get software like Norton AntiVirus and other software, after reading some PC magazines and going to computer message boards like this, I was told that Norton as well as Mcafee are "software viruses" in-themselves because they attach to your computer like a cancer and its extreemly hard to remove. So on that advice I removed Norton the best I could and downloaded other software. Well after alot of installing/uninstalling looking for the right software I currently have the following:

AntiVirus Software : AVG 6.0 AntiVirus System (free version)
Firewall Software : Sygate Personal Firewall
Lavasoft Ad-Aware 6.0
SpyBot 1.3
Registry Mechanic 3.0
Pc Bug Doctor
Pest Patrol
Spyware blaster
System Mechanic 5 Pro
Mozilla Firefox