Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building linux-pc clusters

• Please log in to reply

rajks

rajks

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi,
I am new to networking so i need some help.
I am trying to build a linux cluster with 3 desktop pcs which will run a specific software in parrallel or a simple setup.
I have all the hardware to build the thing. The problem is to play with the IP address of the PCs. How DHCP will help me? I have a gateway which provides me internet.
Please advise. Or simply get me a setup to solve my problem.
Regards,
raj

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
what kind of Gateway (router). are you simply needing help configuring DHCP? just want to make sure what i need to research for you.

Edited by dsenette, 18 July 2005 - 07:05 AM.

rajks

rajks

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello,

The thing is that i'm at my campus university and i'll use the internet overthere. They use IPs to provide the network.
The problem is that i want to connect my PCs together..can i use assigned IPs by myself..if yes, how? i'm a bit confused.
Have anybody tried to build a linux cluster. If yes, please can u provide me enough details how could i build it on my own.
thanks for yor consideration and time

Regards,
raj

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP