Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Network not working

• Please log in to reply

XZantoth

XZantoth

• Pip
  • 8 posts
Hey all!
I'm having problems with getting my home network to work. I'm new at networking but I'm pretty sure it has something to do with the computer not receiving an IP address because it can't contact the DHCP server. I have two desktop PCs connected through a Netgear Ethernet Hub EN104TP. I have ASDL broadband from Zoomtown using a Westell Wirespeed modem. One computer is running Win98 and has no problems at all. The other is running WinXP and won't always connect to the internet. It will after the computer has been on for awhile (couple of hours usually). Once it has connected, I can usually restart the computer and it connects again fine. I tried putting the computer in standby mode instead of shutting it down so that it would stay connected, but it wouldn't reconnect when I tried the next day. I've tried ipconfig /renew but it times out. I've also tried the Repair Connection tool in the network connections properties but it says it was unable to renew the IP address (same thing as ipconfig /renew I guess).
Would a router instead of a hub fix this? Not really sure of the difference between the two.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Advertisements

-=jonnyrotten=-

-=jonnyrotten=-

Member 2k

• Retired Staff
  • 2,678 posts