Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I need urgent help: display is stuck on 16 colours

• Please log in to reply

juni0r

juni0r

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi,

My computer display has become stuck in 16-colour mode, and the mouse pointer doesn't appear unless I start in Safe Mode. I tried to do a System Restore, but it says that System Restore can't run because it needs at least 200 MB of memory (although I've got about 9 GB free). If I change the display settings, they just revert back to 16-colour & 640x480 pixels when I restart. I'm a graphic designer and am in the middle of a job, so I need to fix it urgently, but I don't know enough to do it myself. I've looked at the other posts on similar topics, and I've tried to install new drivers for my Nvidia graphics card, but I can't find the right ones and I don't know how to install them when I do find them!

Here's the Everest report from my PC:

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows ME
OS Service Pack -
DirectX 4.08.01.0901 (DirectX 8.1b)
Computer Name OEMCOMPUTER (Unknown User)
User Name default

Motherboard:
CPU Type AMD Athlon, 1300 MHz (13 x 100)
Motherboard Name Gigabyte GA-7ZM(P) (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 AMR, 3 DIMM, Audio)
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8363 Apollo KT133
System Memory 256 MB (SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (08/01/00)

Display:
Video Adapter nVIDIA RIVA TNT2 M64 (Gigabyte GA-622)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA RIVA TNT2 M64

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Creative SB PCI128 (Ensoniq ES5880) Sound Card
SMART Hard Disks Status Unknown

Partitions:
C: (FAT32) 37156 MB (9394 MB free)

Peripherals: