Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Adware popups

• Please log in to reply

pokilty

pokilty

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi I'm new to this forum but it seems like a great source of information. I'm no novice when it comes to computers, but I'm not familiar enough with windows architecture to locate these little programs. Basically I get continuous popups during idle times, usually advertisements and occasionally [bleep]-related. I've run the usual AdAware and Spybot in thorough modes, and I use ZoneAlarm Suite as a firewall and virus scanner. I tried some recommended programs to clean out the cache and temporary files, including CleanUp!. I've also looked through all of my processes very thoroughly, I'm fairly sure they're all legitimate. I did research on everything I see in HijackThis, but it's possible that I was fooled by realistic-looking malware in there. I'll post my logs here for anybody who can help me analyze this. This computer is very new so it should be a pretty clear log. thanks :tazz:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 4:10:20 PM, on 7/20/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Service\AdskScSrv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\isafe.exe