Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Already Reformatted but...

• Please log in to reply

Ziggy

Ziggy

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
I have been fighting this problem for six months. My computer locks up in Internet Explorer (and Mozilla Firefox). It just freezes up and I have to turn off the power button in order to reboot. It did this twice as I tried to post this message this morning. Both times it occurred after typing about six words in the body of the message.

I visited the Malware message board in late January or early February and learned that I had a Cool Web Search infection. I removed that and was given a clean bill of health but the problem did not go away. They suggested that I try this board at that time but I just kept working around the problem.

Yesterday, I decided to reformat and start over. After reformatting, I immediately went to Microsoft’s website and updated both windows and IE. I am using VCOM’s Net Defense Firewall. I cannot imagine that this computer is infected. I have only visited three or four websites and now it is starting to lock up again.

I am currently running IE version 6.0.2800.1106IS and Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222A. My system has 319 Mb of RAM. I only use this thing to check e-mail and to surf the internet so the computer has plenty of power and speed using a DSL modem. Any assistance is appreciated.