Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

GIGABYTE GA-8GPNXP don't boot from CD-ROM

• Please log in to reply

paulojam

paulojam

• Pip
  • 9 posts
I'm a computer builder, and I'm just trying to finish an upgrade.

The new configuration is:

MB GIGABYTE GA-8GPNXP
1024 MB TWINMOS DDR 400
VGA ASUS N6200GE

2 IDE/ATA HD
2 IDE/ATA CD-ROM

Only the optical drives and the disks are from the old PC.

The big problem is that I can't boot from CD. I've allready configured the BIOS to start from CD-ROM, but nothing...

When the computer starts, it detects the OPTICAL DRIVES and the HARD DRIVES, it says that detected a bootable CD, but that message "Press any key to boot from CD ..." never apears ...

I've tried all the possible BIOS configurations (I think ...) and I've also tried using an Windows 98 statup diskette, but in that case the OPTICAL DRIVES are not detected ?!?!?!

So I can't access the CD ...

I'm desperate ... I don't know what to do ... And the client is waiting ...

I'm doing this kind of job for some years and I never saw anything like this ...

If anyone could help me with this problem I would be very grateful !!

Thanks !!

Edited by paulojam, 24 July 2005 - 04:08 PM.

Advertisements

Murray S.

Murray S.

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Howdy and welcome to G2G:

What os cd are you trying to boot from??

Is this cd an original or a copy you or someone made for you (totally different setup and install procedure)..

Murray

paulojam

paulojam

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts