Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PORT SCAN ATTACK?

• Please log in to reply

polling

polling

• PipPipPip
  • 303 posts
HI GUYS I'M NOT SURE IF I'M POSTING THIS IN THE RIGHT PLACE BUT I HAVE SYEGATE AS MY FIREWALL I RECIEVED A MESSAGE FROM SYEGATE THAT A PORT SCAN ATTACK HAD BEEN LOGGED ON. DOES ANYONE KNOWS WHAT THIS MEAN? DO I NEED EXTRA PROTECTION AND IF SO WHAT DO I DO TO GET RID OF THIS PORT SCAN ATTACK ? THANX IN ADVANCE I'M A NEWBIE TO COMPUTERS BUT EVERYTIME I 'VE RUN INTO A PROBLEM THIS FORUM ALWAYS HELP ME OUT OF MY JAMS THANX :tazz: ;) :)

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
first off..don't type ini all caps..it's concidered yelling...also check the help files of your firewall and see if it has any clues....a port scan attack basically means someone scanned your system for open ports....if the actual wording was that a port scan was able to log on to your machine then that means someone got into your system through an open port...if the message was that a port scan attack was logged...then it just means someone tried a port scan

polling

polling

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 303 posts
thanx for responding. this is the message i got it my logs : Somebody is scanning your computer.
Your computer's UDP ports:
1028, 1030, 1031, and 2 have been scanned from 61.152.158.125..

sorry about the caps i didn't know that's what it meant i use it so i can see if i made any grammatical mistakes could you help me stop this scan attack