Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

BIOS Problem

• Please log in to reply

HQZ

HQZ

• PipPip
  • 19 posts
Hey guys, I am a newbie in using online forums so I am sorry if I don't follow the "rules"

Here is my problem just built a new system:
P4 640 3.2GHz
MSI 915P Neo2 Platinum (v1.0B)
MSI RX800PRO
2 X 1GB Corsair DDR2-533
Maxtor 160GB SATA

Installed XP Pro and everything was running smooth, then I decided to try Live Update 3. After installation it asked to reboot. After that windows started and 5 sec after it booted the PC show one of these blue screens with something like hardware malfunction…. And restarted right away. The screen wasn't on the monitor for more that a sec. After going under safe mode and removing Live Update everything was fine. So I decided it might be a bios issue so went to mis and got the newest bios (v3.7). Cleared the CMOS form the bios and updated it and once the PC booted it said "CMOS sum incompatible (or maybe not correct) press F1 to continue or F2 to run setup" (or something like this). So I pressed F1 and tried to start windows but once it gets to the loading screen where the windows flag is it just show the flag for a sec and restarts. I decided it is the bios se went back to v3.0 same think. I had to reinstall windows and it is running know. My question is how can I install Live Update and not get the blue screen and how to flash the bios and not having to reinstall the windows, by the way my current bios version is 3.0. Also did anybody else experienced problems like this. Thanks!

Advertisements