Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Auto-Detecting Pri Master...Press<F4> to Abort

• Please log in to reply

tedyboy

tedyboy

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Please can anyone help, when I switched my computer on, after it had been off for a couple of months it will not bootup.
It gives me the message Auto-Detecting Pri Master...Press<F4> to Abort. but nothing happens when I do press Abort so I have to switch it off manualy.

I am new to computing so any help would be very helpful,a step by step run though would be ideal. The O/S is Win98.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Edited by tedyboy, 12 August 2005 - 03:37 AM.

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Don't press anything while it boots to the desktop, or does it freeze at this screen,

Tyger

Tyger

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,896 posts
I would start by making sure the cables to the hard drive are properly seated at the drive and the mother board. Wiggle them a little and press them firmly in.

tedyboy

tedyboy

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi Keith

I have left my PC runing but it will not move past Auto Detecting Pri Master. and yes it does freeze at the first srceen.

I have made sure that all the ribbon cables are in place but it still wont BOOTUP.

Edited by tedyboy, 15 August 2005 - 04:49 AM.

tedyboy

tedyboy

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi Tiger

Have tried what you said but no luck, all the cables are in place

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts