Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Win Fixer 2005 problems

• Please log in to reply

computerwiz12890

computerwiz12890

Fixer-upper guy

• Retired Staff
  • 1,807 posts
This is my first time posting on this website. That Win Fixer 2005 is driving me crazy. It is one of my customer's computer that is infected. I've cleared out every temp folder and temporary internet folder. Access is Denied did not stop me. I cleaned out the prefetch folder and I even did a search for any files named "fix" or "uwfx" since that seemed to be what a lot of the Win Fixer files had in their name. I deleted the Win Fixer entry from the Regestry. I ran Spy Bot, Ad-Aware, and Noadware, but they obviously didn't get rid of all of Win Fixer. I installed and ran Kaspersky Anti-Virus, which found and removed 159 viruses. I disabled System Restore so if it was hiding in there, it would have been removed. I even messed around with Hijack This. I did all of this while being disconnected from the internet. Please help me, I've completly run out of ideas, and I'm about ready to do a full restore of their computer. :tazz:

Here is their Hijack This log:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 9:45:08 PM, on 8/13/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe