Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Networking Questions

• Please log in to reply

gilazilla

gilazilla

• PipPip
  • 39 posts
I am yearning for an answer after reading a lot of the posts in this networking thread.Do i REALLY need a router to connect around 5 computers through a hub/switch so that they can connect and surf the broadband internet simultaneously?

When i was a really a newbie,I went to install and setup the computer network myself (instead of getting a package ADSL modem from my ISP which cost a lot more and without any built in router), the computer shop tech assistant told me that i at least need a ADSL with a router build in and a hub so that all the computers can go online together. But now after reading certain posts ( i cannot remember), i noticed that i don't really need a router to do the same stuff. Anyone mind clarify me on this?

P.S i also noticed that for a certain huge housing area, they all share the same DNS server address provided by the ISP.Anyway, i am just curious as why the DNS server is the same?By the way , my IP address is dynamic because I check with ipconfig /all and the IP changes all the time.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisements

Favs

Favs

• PipPip
  • 64 posts
Here is the thing, routers mask ips. So if you have 5 computers on all the ISP sees is 255.255.255.255 or somehting like that. Meaning your isp cant tell how many computers you have on the internet. But if you paid for the extra connects then a hub should be just fine.

gilazilla

gilazilla

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts