Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows won't start

• Please log in to reply

slinky

slinky

• Pip
  • 7 posts
I'm a noob here and really need some help. When I try to boot my laptop, XP begins loading and then I get the BSOD with the following message:

Stop: c000021a{fatal system error} the windows logon process system terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc0000033 (0x00000000 0x00000000). The system has been shut down

I am trying to recover some important documents that are saved in Shared Documents and My Documents folders. I understand if I reinstall Windows, I will probably lose these files. This is an OEM XP Home install.

I have Googled the error message and found no help there. These are the steps I've taken so far:

1. tried to restart in safe mode and tried restart with last known good configuration. Resulted in same message.
2. created a Windows XP bootable disk. Message I got was "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: <windows root> \system32\hal.dll. Please reinstall a copy of the above file"
3. booted from the XP CD but there was no option to repair the XP install
4. booted from XP CD and used the Recovery Console to execute a chkdsk /r. Resulted in same BSOD.

I am an intermediate-level user and do not know how to use all the commands of the recovery console. I would appreciate any assistance in recovering my files. I'm trying to avoid taking my laptop apart if possible. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisements

Murray S.

Murray S.

Trusted Tech