Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Overheating problem

• Please log in to reply

gen244drdr

gen244drdr

• PipPip
  • 76 posts
Hy Guys, I'm a newbie here and thanks for the forums.

I have a prescott 3.2 on a Giga 81875 Ultra. I have an after market thermaltake fan installed in an attempt to address an overheating problem. The new fan (which isnt new anymore) didn't help much, and only really made about 1 or 2 C difference overall.

On a warm day sometimes the CPU reaches over 85C and the machine shuts down. Ambient temperature in the room isnt usually above 25C and for the record its winter going on spring here so it isnt hot. (Melbourne Australia).

I suspect the temp problem has to do with the case, which is a prescott case with the crappy cooling tube thing in the side. I decided it was useless and installed a 10cm intake fan instead, but it doesnt help much either.

I think the main problem is the lack of a extraction fan anywhere in the case. I suspect that the CPU and the PSU together make so much heat one of them just shuts down. Very warm air comes out of the back of the PSU. (400W no name cheapy)

For some time I was under voltaging the CPU just a fraction to try and help. Stability didnt seem to be a problem but recently I retured it to normal (auto) voltage.

Should I just go and buy a better case? Money is a factor as I need to be buying a car right now. But what should I do???

thanks

Adrian. :) :) :) :tazz: