Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

98 Product Key

• Please log in to reply

broken98

broken98

• PipPip
  • 74 posts
What can be done about starting up windows 98 for the first time after doing a complete restore and you don't have the product key it's asking for? :tazz:

Advertisements

brodie9977

brodie9977

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I have the same problem on my kids' machine...can anyone help out?
I've tried to put the Windows 98 CD in my XP machine, and went to Start..Run..Regedit...but that code doesn't seem to work. Any ideas? I'm rather new to this, so hope my response/questions make sense! thx.

broken98

broken98

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
I went on-line with another computer and started doing searches for
"98 product keys" and started writing the ones I found down on paper.
One site had a bunch and there was one that had Sony next to it which
is the kind of computer I was needing the key for. I don't remember the site
but it did work. Later on I was able to locate my misplaced disc with the
product key on it. My number was [removed]
This might not work for your machine but good luck with it.

Edited by admin, 10 February 2005 - 09:21 AM.

admin

admin

Founder Geek

• Community Leader
  • 24,639 posts
Posting of CD keys is illegal, and not allowed on this forum.

Hitman666

Hitman666

• PipPip
  • 15 posts