Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Hard drive filling up?

• Please log in to reply

PhotoBoy

PhotoBoy

• PipPip
  • 45 posts
Hello everyone.

Had a malware problem recently, and during it's removal was able to find out about Clean Up and other such programs.

Anyway, rather than gain disc space I'm losing it rapidly, and I'm mystified. The computer is fine otherwise.

It's an 80 gig drive on a Dell Inspiron 8600, and a week ago my disc space went from 12% left to 10%. Now I only have a 1 gig of space left which is less than 1%.

I'm a photographer and had about 22 gigs worth of images on there a month ago, but suddenly it's over 36 gigs, which doesnt make sense seeing as I have probably loaded around 1 gigabyte in that time. The My Docs folder is at 36 gigs by the way, which includes text documents too.

Photoshop is the biggest program I have at about 1 gig of disc space, but allowing for programs and images, does anyone have any idea where my other 30 gigabytes of space has gone?!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Advertisements

RogueComGeek

RogueComGeek

• PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
ya could buy another hard drive or start burning disks dvd/cd's to save space on your computer.

PhotoBoy

PhotoBoy

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts
:tazz:

Thanks, but I need to find out where the disc space is 'going'.

dagger

dagger

• PipPipPip
  • 126 posts
What does it say when you try to run the disk defragmenter?

PhotoBoy

PhotoBoy

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts
Thanks Dagger.