Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

pc takes many boots to work

• Please log in to reply

kendo2222

kendo2222

• PipPip
  • 26 posts
ok my pc takes many tries to boot up, its runnin widows 98 chinese version which i canot read. its used for work to run a point of sales software. the system is a AMD duron 1.1ghz on a soltek 75 M/B just basic system no cdrom. i have been using for 3 years now with no problems and no internet. problem now is that i turn on and it shows the windows 98 screen then screen goes blank, pc green light still on and keyboard lights on. but nothing esle. tried another monitor same thing. was told to change PSU and CPU fan etc... put new PSU and CPU fan heatsink. but still have to unplug power line and power on etc... about 10 times now before it boots up normally and works ok, whilst on and restarting windows it will come on ok until i leave it off longer, last week it took about 3 reboots now its getting to a longer time of unplugging. does anyone know wot could be wrong, the system just has a floppy and 120mb ram and no other hard ware. could it be some bios setting. please help. if i buy a new system and plug the current harddisk into it will i be able to continue to use windows98 and my point of sales on it straight away. thanks

Advertisements

fungit

fungit

• PipPip
  • 81 posts