Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

AIM freezes

• Please log in to reply

Ohno5Oh

Ohno5Oh

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I am a novice when it comes to computers, so here is my question. I will sign on to AIM and after a few minutes or so, AIM will freeze up. So i go to task manager, then to processes to see that AIM is using all of the CPU (clueless to what that means) all i know is that probably is not supposed to happen. ANy help would be Appreciated.

Advertisements

Linkmaster

Linkmaster

Visiting Staff

• PipPipPip
  • 940 posts
Hi

What version of AIM are you using??

Try disabling the AIM Today feature (in Sign On/Off references), the News Ticker, and the Stock Ticker.
Try AIM

If the problem continues, take the steps below:
1) Exit from AIM if it is running (by clicking once on the AIM icon in the "system tray" next to the system clock, and choosing the Exit menu item).
2) Find out which directory on your hard drive is used for the AIM cache files for your affected Screen Name.
Look into the following directories:
c:\documents and settings\<Windows_Username>\Application Data\Aim\<Your Screen Name>\urlcache
c:\documents and settings\Application Data\Aim\<Your Screen Name>urlcache
c:\windows\application data\aim\<Your Screen Name>\urlcache
c:\windows\aim95\<Your Screen Name>\urlcache

3) If any of those above "urlcache" directories exist, delete them. This won't damage AIM at all.
(If a lot of cache files have accumulated, it could take Windows quite a while to delete them.)
Try AIM again!!