Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Purchasing Windows XP

• Please log in to reply

o2mcgovemm

o2mcgovemm

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
Hi,
I need help buying Windows XP. I've found it for £25 on EuroPc (http://www.europc.co...ProductID=19173), but it's 'Volume Licensing'. It allows you to buy just one though.

I'm a little confused. Can I just buy one copy and install it on my laptop, or will I have to pay extra for a license or something like that. (I'm a student who can't afford the Education Grant Windows XP Thingy).

:tazz:

Your Help Is Much Apprieciated[sp].
Michael.

Advertisements

Fenor

Fenor

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,236 posts
If you have a laptop already then you must have another version of windows installed on your machine, like Windows 2000. If you still have the Windows 2000 Cd that came with your machine, then you will be able to buy a windows XP Upgrade CD which will be alot cheaper then having to buy a full fledged stand-alone version.

Fenor

Kat

Kat

Retired

• Retired Staff
  • 19,711 posts
  • MVP
Hello and welcome to GeeksToGo! :tazz:

The volume licensing program is designed for corporate, government, and academic customers with 250 or more desktops.

The site isn't trying to sell one copy at a time...rather, that is the cost per each if you buy in large quantity. And if they are willing to sell only one...then it most likely isn't quite "legal".

Edited by ~Kat~, 17 September 2005 - 10:48 PM.

Guest_Tony_*

Guest_Tony_*